109 Days

109 days is the length of my entire trip. I know this only because my travel insurer informed me of the fact. I thought it was an interesting but perhaps useless piece of info. Or is it? Maybe that’s what I’ll call the book that I plan to publish once this trip is over. Yes, yes, publishing a book is so self-indulgent. Then again, isn’t this trip? Basically what you read on this blog will end up as at least an e-book, if not more. Perhaps a bit more insight, more visuals, definitely more than I’ll be able to post while actually IN Asia, due to time constraints and limited Internet access.

That said, I’m the holder of medical insurance but so far, not travel insurance per se. No trip interruption insurance because apparently most companies only insure flight travel. I taught my insurer something new today. She was really perplexed that they don’t have coverage for non-air modes of transportation, and said she would use what we learned together, in her training materials for new employees. She had to make special arrangements for returning me home in the event of an emergency. Normally, they would fly a person home. I don’t find it amusing that if my retinas are tearing while in Japan for some odd reason, that they’d ship me to Canada on a plane. Imagine going home to be ‘saved’, but losing my eyesight because of their oversight? (Ugh, I usually make sea-related dumb jokes, but that was a dumb eyesight joke. Sorry.)

We therefore put notes in my file explaining they’d need to find a ship or something else to get me home, or as I suggested, a low-flying aircraft such as a helicopter. I’d probably be sick in a helicopter, but if I’m unconscious or pumped full of morphine, I’d hardly care. I explained it’s all about the altitude, so think vehicles lower to the ground. Though she said this would probably be a large expense on their end, and I wouldn’t get home quickly, that they would do everything in their power to bring me home safely.

But as she said, this would be in an extreme case. The chances of me needing to be transported outside the country I’m visiting are infinitesimal.

Well, at least I’m not stuck on the boat pictured in my page header image. This is pretty nifty though. Have a look at what became of an old cargo ship in Australia. Photo credit: Andy Brill.

Leave a Reply

