Vision or The Loss Thereof

While traveling, I had my contact lenses as well as glasses. I figured I might benefit from wearing the lenses, as they improve my distance vision. Funny enough, I never wore them. The saline solution was extra bulk in my luggage, and expired by the time I returned to Canada. I nearly tossed it somewhere between Shanghai and BC, but refrained just in case anything happened to my glasses before reaching home.

Are any of my readers who travel ever preoccupied with the idea of glasses breaking mid-trip? Or even losing them? At times, I would be looking down, perhaps over a bridge or even out at sea from the freight ship, and feel them slip down the bridge of my nose. This made me aware that my eyewear is a bit precarious. The screws are lose and need repeated tightening.

A friend recommended Japan’s ridiculously cheap fast-turnaround optometrists, such as Zoff or Jins, and I did peruse a few of them out of curiosity. However, I knew my prescription is a pain, and that it may take longer to have glasses made. Since I didn’t stay in one city for longer than a few days at a time, this made it difficult to arrange final pickup. I also worried about the quality of the prescription, since places like LensCrafters are known to either refuse my prescription or possibly make ill-fitted lenses with the wrong strength.

I researched further into Zoff et al when I returned from my trip. Sure enough, it looks as though these cheapie lens-makers may have hindered instead of helped my vision. Perhaps as an emergency backup they would have sufficed, but in the long run my eyesight would have suffered. What I read online is that these companies only ‘roughly match’ a customer’s prescription to whatever they have lying around in stock. This can work for people who just need a small vision correction, but ultimately, I’d be back to a LensCrafters-ish result. I’m not even sure they would have taken me as a customer!

Happily, the same frames are still on my face. I’ve however, become hyper-aware of the potential of loss or damage. I really should invest in a backup pair, but already my prescription is insanely-priced, and I’m still largely unemployed after returning from my trip.

Being blessed with low vision means my other faculties are somewhat heightened. I’m very useful at finding other people’s lost items, even if I usually can’t find my own! I survived my adventure in Asia, but did notice some deterioration in my sight while sitting on the ship home. Trying to document my escapades one night, I noticed my eyes skipping around the page trying to focus on my own handwriting. I’ve since had episodes of blurry vision I can’t quite blink away. It feels like something’s in my eyes, or like I need to clean my glasses.

My eyes feel tired or strained more easily than they used to, but maybe that’s just a normal result of the aging process. What scares me are the spots I noticed while on the ship. Not quite floaters, but something I can only compare to the loss of partial vision I sometimes get with migraine aura. The spots haven’t resurfaced though so that’s positive.

Ah, my lousy vision. I knew it would definitely deteriorate over time. Maybe life is supposed to unfurl like this. Sorry, I think this turned into a downer-post LOL.

6 thoughts on “Vision or The Loss Thereof

  1. This reading got me emotional, to be honest. I could relate quite a lot as I had a pretty awful eyesight since I was born and the fear of losing the only way to see (aka glasses) has always been there. When I went to Japan I had the same questions because you realize only when in need. Yet, I laughed so hard about how other faculties are somehow in a “supernatural” state, it sounds exaggerated but it’s actually like that! Thanks god at least something good from it. 😉

    As for the possible deterioration, I dare suggest you a check. In my case, those “spots” resulted in a temporary high eye pressure, which I don’t think might be your case, but you know, your eyes are trying to tell you something 🙂 Or maybe it was Minjun’s shining appearance’s fault =P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shining appearance LOLOL. Thanks, that made me laugh! In fact, I already do have quite high eye pressure. It could mean that what I’ve been seeing/feeling is ‘normal’ or that the pressure has increased. Which in the end, could also be ‘normal’, as the condition deteriorates with age.

      Like

  2. Um… okay, I don’t mean to be a downer here, either, but since it was suggested to me by a Canadian ophthalmologist, I will pass it along: have you ever had your retinas tested? Apparently there’s a thing called retinal detachment, which usually happens to us folks with really thick glasses for extreme nearsightedness. Floaters are a sign that it’s coming. Get thee to an eye doctor! There is a free place to test you in Montreal, that the doc recommended to me, since I was a broke-ass student. I think it was a school for eye docs in training, but I don’t recall the name offhand. Deets on the issue: https://nei.nih.gov/health/retinaldetach/retinaldetach

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, I’ve already seen a retinologist many years ago after a hemorrhage on my focal plane caused me to lose a chunk of my 3D vision. They’ve already alerted me about the floaters and what to (RUN to ER).

      The retinal detachment possibility is EXACTLY why I took a freight ship to Japan instead of an airplane.
      You are the first person I know who mentions the ‘really thick glasses people’, as if it were quite a common occurrence. It must be! But I was always greeted by such stupor, and lack of information. It made me feel like an anomaly. All I have is high myopia. Don’t lots of people have high myopia? Why isn’t this discussed more? Why don’t most myopes even KNOW the kind of risk they secretly have? This is why I hate the medical system, specifically the Canadian one.
      I will check out your link, because all the training clinics I tried to get into would not see me until after I’d already return from Japan (due to very long wait times getting an appointment). I’m back now though so I should probably get on this.

      All that said, thank you. And I have a question. You fly. Are you considered ‘okay’ to do so? The other thing doctors don’t seem to tell most people with high myopia, is about the risks of retinas ‘popping’ in varying air pressure.

      Like

      1. The weird thing is… that eye doctor in Montreal is literally the ONLY person who has ever mentioned the retinal detachment to me, ever. And obviously, since my prescription is so high, I go to the eye doctor every year, and usually have to get new glasses. But no one has ever mentioned the possibility of my retinas popping under air pressure, so that’s a scary thought!

        I must admit, I haven’t been on a plane for quite a while now. I think the last time was probably to go to my sister’s wedding, back in 2011. But yeah, no one has ever told me I was in any danger of retinal damage with flying, so I will have to ask the doc next time I go! (And I need a new doc, because the last one’s office was so terrible… they tried to charge me twice for the same appointment, and almost sent this double-bill to collections, even after I sent them documentation three times indicating my insurance company had already paid them, bleh!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, I see the medical system sucks just about everywhere!! I think most doctors are just winging it, to be very honest. They don’t have most of the answers we really need. Go see them if you catch a cold or have a vitamin deficiency or…on second thought, that’s probably not the best idea either :/ I’m not skeptic by nature, but the experiences I’ve had, and worse, the ones friends have had have taught me to distrust the System.
        I never knew your eyes were so bad! What’s your prescription? (Sounds like a pickup line LOL). I’m at -11 but probably need a -12 upgrade desperately.

        Like

Leave a Reply

